The Home Screen displays the Tasks and Notes for the user or group that is selected in Users and Groups drop down. Which user's or group's Tasks and Notes that are shown when first going to the Home screen is determined by the value of the Default View drop down in your Preferences.
If you want to see your Tasks and Notes, select your username from the drop down. To see all the items for one of your groups, select that group from the drop down. In order to see the Tasks and Notes for all of your users and groups, select 'All Users & Groups'.
Below the Breadcrumbs is the name of the user currently logged in. To the right of the username and still above the Tree View, you can see the number of your open tasks. If you have tasks that are overdue or upcoming, you will also see the count of those tasks to the right of the count of the open tasks. However, when the user has no overdue or upcoming tasks the user will not see those counts. How far in the future a task can be due in order to be considered an upcoming task is defined by a setting in your Preferences. The upcoming task and overdue task counts are links that when selected will take you a list of those tasks on the Upcoming Tasks Screen.
You can take action on the Tasks or Notes by selecting the Icons or links available for each item.